When Death is Sought: Preparing the Caregiver

Charlie “Chaz” Ebert, wife of movie critic Roger Ebert, received compassion and understanding from the oncology team responsible for her husband’s care during his excruciating battle with salivary gland cancer. What she didn’t get, she said, was “fair warning” that her ever-optimistic, take-life-by-the-horns partner might decide not only to give up the fight at some point, but that he might want her help in ending it.

Chaz and Roger Ebert. Image via Flickr user mc1968a by Creative Commons License.

Euthanasia “is never discussed openly, but the topic is out there and it’s terrifying,” Mrs. Ebert said during a roundtable discussion titled “The Many Faces and Challenges of Caregivers” led by veteran ABC news journalist Sam Donaldson at the annual conference of the National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) in Hollywood, Florida last week. With respect to her husband, “here’s someone whose whole life was about speaking and sharing information, and he lost his ability to speak. He was also someone who loved food and eating with his friends and family and he wasn’t going to be able to eat.”

She knew those realities were going to be devastating for him, but she also knew – or thought she knew – that her husband loved life “and that somehow we would find a way through this.”  That certainty was shattered, however, when, after waking up from a procedure that left him partially and temporarily paralyzed, her husband scribbled “kill me” on a piece of paper.  Shaken by the depth of her husband’s pain, “I told him that wasn’t an option.  He was looking at me to give him some direction, so I told him, ‘If you will find the will to live I will find a way to make your life interesting for you.’ ”

He did persevere, and she has made good on her promise, “but I feel like I should have been better prepared to handle the emotional rollercoaster,” she said.

Jai Pausch, wife of the late Randy Pausch, the Carnegie Mellon professor and author of The Last Lecture, which he wrote while terminally ill with pancreatic cancer, shared a similar story in the hope that it might help oncologists understand that shielding caregivers from certain realities, although well meaning, can leave them more vulnerable to the crushing blows when they occur.   “My husband, who had always been very optimistic and very positive, told me that he didn’t want to be a freak show for our children and if he got to the point where he was to be comatose in that slow progression of dying, he wanted me to give him an overdose of morphine to speed the process along.”

Up until that point, “I would have done anything for him. I didn’t know how to respond. I couldn’t go there,” Mrs. Pausch said.  “I later learned that this is something that a lot of patients talk to their caregivers about, that it’s a normal part of the process, but it’s something that nobody tells you.”

–Diana Mahoney (on Twitter @DMPM1)

9 Comments

Filed under Family Medicine, Health Policy, Hospice and Palliative Care, Hospital and Critical Care Medicine, IMNG, Internal Medicine, Primary care

9 responses to “When Death is Sought: Preparing the Caregiver

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really
    informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.

    Lots of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  2. I’ve been surfing online more than three hours nowadays, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is beautiful price sufficient for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the web will be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  3. Hi there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.

    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  4. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site. Studying this information So i’m satisfied to
    exhibit that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I most undoubtedly will make sure to do not forget this web site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

  5. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this site daily, this web site is genuinely pleasant and the visitors are really sharing fastidious thoughts.

  6. This post offers clear idea in favor of the new visitors of blogging, that actually how to do running a blog.

  7. I know that I could test out the complete program for 1 month.

  8. Hi there, its good article on the topic of media print, we all be aware of media
    is a enormous source of facts.

  9. Hey Chris, gracias por tu minuciosa revisión de Nikken, como tú no soy fan de MLM. Juzgando por tu revisión que Nikken definitivamente no vale tu tiempo. Mirando su plan de compensación, para unirse como consultor senior necesita pagar al menos $99 y reclutar al menos 100 referidos así de ridículo. En segundo lugar, usted puede vender el producto usted mismo, pero yo no sé si hay una cuota mínima que cumplir. En su revisión, la mayoría de los consultores ganan alrededor de $ 200 por año, yo más bien estoy tratando de mi mano en el marketing de afiliados que el potencial de ingresos pasivos es ilimitado siempre que trabajemos duro y pongamos esfuerzo en ello. Además, no tienes que pagar ninguna cuota por adelantado para operar un negocio de marketing de afiliados. Bueno, algunas personas son buenas en el negocio del MLM, pero el marketing de afiliados es más adecuado para mí.

Leave a comment